Notices to Choir Members

Last updated: 19 March 2018

Membership enquiries and rehearsal attendance apologies:

Enjoy the March 2018 issue of
City Choir Cadenza (1.1 MB, PDF)

Rehearsal venue:  Mornington Presbyterian Community Centre (MPCC), 16 Maryhill Terrace, Mornington, Dunedin. 
Regular Tuesday rehearsal time:  
7:30-9:30 pm

Click to view a street map to the MPCC location. (360 KB, PDF)

Sun 25 Mar  Rehearsal at MPCC, 3:00-5:30 pm

Tue 3 Apr  Rehearsal and Easter Bunny Bonanza sales table.

Fri 6 Apr – Rehearsal in Knox Church, 7:00-10:00 pm

Sat 7 Apr – Rehearsal in Knox Church, 2:00-4:30 pm

Sat 7 Apr – Grief to Joy, Music for Easter, 7:30 pm, Knox Church. On the programme: Verdi Stabat Mater, Finzi Lo the full final sacrifice, Bach Cantata 66: Erfreut euch, ihr Herzen

Tue 10 Apr – Rehearsal. Return scores.

Tue 24 Apr – AGM and rehearsal.

Tue 1 May  Rehearsal and Marvellous Muffins sales table.

Sat 5 May  Rehearsal at Hanover Hall, 4:45 pm (tbc)   or

Fri 18 May  Rehearsal at Hanover Hall, 6:00 pm (tbc)

Thu 24 May  Rehearsal at Knox Church (tba)

Fri 25 May  DYO Concert, 7:30 pm. Guest appearance in DYO concert, Knox Church. Verdi Te Deum.

Tue 29 May  There will not be a rehearsal. 

Tue 5 Jun  Workshop with Judy Bellingham and Splendid Scarves sales table. Return scores.

June – Gallipoli to the Somme in the UK – 2 June in Oxford; 13 June in Queen Elizabeth Hall, London. Rehearsals on Fri 1 June and Mon 11 June. Conductor: Simon Over. With the Parliament Choir and Southbank Sinfonia.

Tue 3 Jul  Rehearsal and Winter Warmers sales table.

Sun 8 Jul  Rehearsal at MPCC (tbc)

Tue 7 Aug  Rehearsal and Scrumptious Scones sales table.

Sun 12 Aug  Rehearsal at MPCC (tbc)

Sun 26 Aug  Carmina Burana rehearsal at Hanover Hall with conductor Marc Taddei (late afternoon, time tbc)

Fri 31 Aug  Carmina Burana rehearsal at Town Hall, 7:15 pm

Sat 1 Sep  Carmina Burana dress rehearsal at Town Hall, 2:00-4:30 pm

Sat 1 Sep  Carmina Burana, Dunedin Town Hall. City Choir performs in the DSO concert, with conductor Marc Taddei.

Tue 4 Sep  Rehearsal and Spring Fever sales table.

Fri 7 Sep – Cancer Society Ball, Dunedin Town Hall. City Choir to provide a 15-minute bracket of choral music.

Sun 23 Sep  Rehearsal at MPCC (tbc)

Tue 2 Oct  Rehearsal and Creative Cupcakes sales table.

Sat 6 Oct – Jazz Café, with top Dunedin jazz musicians, Dunedin Town Hall.
City Choir is letting its hair down with an evening of jazz music from Broadway to Dunedin! We’ll be transforming the Town Hall into a café, complete with two coffee bars, a wine bar and snack bar. There will even be room to dance for those who get moved to do so.

Tue 6 Nov  Rehearsal and Garden's Delight sales table.

Tue 4 Dec  Rehearsal and Christmas Cookies sales table.

Dec – 100 Hallelujahs – Handel's Messiah with Auckland Choral in Auckland
Rehearsals: 14 & 15 December; Performances: 16 & 17 December

Sat 22 Dec  Christmas Carols Live at the Otago Museum

Follow us on Twitter. Like us on Facebook. Explore our Youtube Channel.